They don’t really mean it when they say “Bible Alone”


One of the things I struggled with was tradition versus the bible alone. It just made sense to me that the Bible being God’s word was our sole authority. How can oral teachings pass the test of time? I will tell you how, by the same manner we can trust Scripture. Oral tradition has passed the test of time because of the guidance of the Holy Spirit. If the Holy Spirit can prevent error in the Bible, the same Holy Spirit can also prevent error in the Church that has been entrusted with the oral teachings.  

Yesterday I was scrolling through my News Feed on Facebook. I come across this:

Surely, I thought I would open up the comments and read folks saying that the Catholic Church got one right. Yeah. That’s not what happened. People were immediately condemning the Catholic Church for once again, making up its own rules. Some commenters combatted that with Scripture.

“”It was said, ‘W HOEVER SENDS HIS WIFE AWAY, LET HIM GIVE HER A CERTIFICATE OF DIVORCE ‘; but I say to you that everyone who divorces his wife, except for the reason of unchastity, makes her commit adultery; and whoever marries a divorced woman commits adultery.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭5:31-32‬ ‭NASB

They didn’t even read this verse. It was as if it didn’t exist, or if the Catholic Church just invented it. They just made this verse up and expected folks to follow it.

Some people defended the bible, which happened to be Catholics. The bible only crowd though, they didn’t believe it and urged those who did to repent.

I now know what Catholics have meant about cherry pickers of Scripture. While I know every Catholic does not follow everything in the bible. What I do know and can say confidently, the Catholic Churxh does follow Scripture, all of it, not just the easier parts.

Lesson learned!

What do you think?

