The Miraculous Medal

You know how when you are going through something and living your daily life, but then begin to recall a culmination of things that have happened over time that contribute to the here and now?  That is me right now.  If you would have told me just thirty days ago that I would be going to Mass, listening to Catholic radio, reading Catholic material like my life was dependent upon it, I would have never believed you.  But here I am.

So I was in my car on the way home today, had Catholic radio on.  The station is not really local to me, so it is fuzzy and goes in and out while I drive.  But I listen to what I can of it and am happy it is there.  The Chaplet of Divine Mercy in song was on.  I sang in prayer and worship along…. “For the sake of His sorrowful passion, have mercy on us and on the whole world” ….and while I am doing this, I recalled a memory.

Months ago, I cannot pinpoint when, it might have been over six months or so, I walked in my bathroom and see this shiny thing on the floor behind my toilet.  I bend over, reach behind to pick it up, and find that it is my Miraculous Medal.  Hmmm…I think.  How in the world did this get here?  We had moved rooms around the house many times over the years I had ceased being Catholic.  No doubt the bathroom had been cleaned hundreds of times since I ceased being Catholic.  Heck, the wax ring in the toilet was replaced, which means the entire toilet was lifted from its spot, and this Medal was never discovered there?  How is that even possible?!?  Seriously folks, we are talking years!

So at that point I just pick it up and drop it on the back of the toilet.  I wasn’t sure what to do with it.  I wasn’t Catholic, but I didn’t feel right just tossing it in the trash…I couldn’t toss it in the trash.  So for several days as I came in and out of the bathroom, I looked at it, I recall at some point making some comment in my head as if daring the Medal to bring me back to Catholicism.

I can’t recall when, but I moved the Medal to the top of my dresser.  I hadn’t seen it in quite some time, and then recalled all this today.  I came home, checked the dresser and sure enough, it was there under something.

I cannot believe this is all coincidence.  I was quite the devotee of our Blessed Mother Mary before I fell away four years ago.  I am left to believe she had a hand in my current state of reverting to the Catholic Faith.

Learn more about the Miraculous Medal.

 

2 thoughts on “The Miraculous Medal

What do you think?

