Spiritual gifts.

I have taken spiritual gift tests online several times and routinely come up with the same gifts.  Mercy, Compassion, and Administration.

The past two years have brought about several new challenges with the only possible course of action being to TRUST GOD (Proverbs 3:5-6 was much crutch).  I seriously sat one night and cried out to God that I couldn’t carry the load any longer and that I was handing it over to Him to deal with.  The load I was carrying was causing me to feel physically ill and stressed beyond belief.  I couldn’t do it any more.  I was exhausted and all that was left in me was tears.  So I cried out to God and told him I was giving it to Him, that I couldn’t carry that burden anymore.  I left it at that.  I didn’t pray for a solution.  I didn’t even think about it.  The next day I woke up with such a peace and refreshment, it was rather amazing.  As days progressed I was tempted to carry the burden some, but I just kept giving it to Him.  I am so thankful for those lessons, for God giving me situations where my only option was to trust.  It is sad though that we have to go through so much, exhausting all options, before we come to the point to just give it to God and trust.

So last week it just so happens my small group at church was studying spiritual gifts and had a spiritual gift quiz to take so we could determine what our spiritual gifts were.  I took it expecting to come up with the same results I had come up with many times before.  God surprised me though.

First, the handout told me what spiritual gifts are not.

They are not talents.  They are not something we can earn.  They are not something we are born with.

Spiritual gifts are supernatural and they are given to us by the Holy Spirit.  I believe as we grow in the Lord, our gifts can change as we mature.

Prior to taking the quiz I noticed my prayer life changing.  I noticed that when I was praying I prayed with a new confidence.  I always knew God could do anything.  But this time in prayer I earnestly believed like never before that 1) God can do exceedingly more that I ever imagined with the intention I might be praying for and 2) there is nothing more I want than for God to receive all the Glory.  My prayers were able to change because I saw God work in the past two years.  He took the burden I had and changed it without me even asking.  So in taking this quiz this time I came up with faith, mercy, and discernment.  I am so excited about this, though I need to study more in the bible what I am to do with these new gifts.  Like a kid on Christmas morning, I unwrapped something spectacular and need to learn what to do with it.

To God Be the Glory, Forever and Ever!

What do you think?

