Moses and his speech.

Several weeks ago I wrote about Moses and his journey to be used by God to free Israel from captivity in Egypt.  Recall, in Exodus 4 (ESV) Moses says to the Lord “Oh, my Lord, I am not eloquent, either in past or since you have spoken to your servant, but I am slow of speech and of tongue.”  The HCSB says “slow and hesitant” in speech.  God promised Moses that He would give him the words. 

Have you ever had an opportunity to share the gospel?  I have had opportunities recently to share how God is working in my life.  I didn’t take the opportunities though, opportunities that may never present themselves again.  Why?  Was I scared, nervous, not sure what to say?  I really need to take this lesson from Moses and know that God too will give me the words….and He will give you the words as well.

Today the sermon in church was in Exodus.  I may write about the sermon in particular another time.  Our pastor brought us to the book of Acts and I made a connection that I never really noted before, despite having read Acts many times.  Here it is.

Acts 7:22 – And Moses was instructed in all the wisdom of the Egyptians, and he was mighty in his words and deeds.”

Moses said he was slow of speech.  But God gave him the words, and in history, Moses was known to be mighty in words.

Mighty is defined as “possessing great and impressive power or strength”. 

Let’s allow this example of Moses teach us to fully rely on God so that He can use us in mighty ways!

 

What do you think?

