The glory of the LORD.

Exodus 24:16-18.

“And the glory of the LORD abode upon mount Sinai, and the cloud covered it six days:  and the seventh day he called unto Moses out of the midst of the cloud.  And the sight of the glory of the LORD was like a devouring fire on the top of the mount in the eyes of the children of Israel.  And Moses went into the midst of the cloud, and gat him up into the mount: and Moses was in the mount for forty days and forty nights.”

Initially when I read this, I set out in my feeble mind to write about the glory of the LORD.  I went to Google and searched to see what others have said about the glory of the LORD.  As I read, I realized that I am just not capable at this point in my walk with the Lord to put to words anything about this subject, for it is far to great and I just don’t believe I can do justice to adequately discuss His Glory.

But…

Charles Spurgeon did just that.  Please, do yourself a favor, and read this, and watch your heart well up, filled with love and devotion.  Our God surely is great, mighty, just.  He is Glory.  He is splendor.  He is so much more than I will ever be able to convey.

5 thoughts on “The glory of the LORD.

  1. You are very humble – as we all are before the Lord in the nakedness of our ignorance. God is so beyond our grasp of imagination as to be almost indescribable except by our praying and reflection. Here lies his boundless Glory.

    • You are so right. I haven’t reached my favorite part of Exodus yet, when Moses asked to see the glory of the LORD, but Spurgeon’s piece discusses that. Moses was with God for forty days and forty nights before he mustered up the daring courage to ask such a thing. He was communing with God, the great I AM, for all that time, which is why he was able to ask. Oh how I [we all] need to learn from Moses: Lord, let my communion with you never cease!!

What do you think?

