Why does He love us?

So, turns out I am not ready to move on in my Exodus reading.  Last night in small group we studied and discussed Matt 28:16-20 – The Great Commission!  It drew a striking parallel to what I just read in Exodus the other night which brings me to the question, why does He love us?  Here are the two verses in particular:

Matthew 28:16-20:  Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go.  When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

Exodus 6:6-9:   “Therefore, say to the Israelites: ‘I am the Lord, and I will bring you out from under the yoke of the Egyptians. I will free you from being slaves to them, and I will redeem you with an outstretched arm and with mighty acts of judgment.  I will take you as my own people, and I will be your God. Then you will know that I am the Lord your God, who brought you out from under the yoke of the Egyptians.  And I will bring you to the land I swore with uplifted hand to give to Abraham, to Isaac and to Jacob. I will give it to you as a possession. I am the Lord.’”  Moses reported this to the Israelites, but they did not listen to him because of their discouragement and harsh labor.

Do you see what I saw?  In Matthew when Jesus was talking to His disciples “some doubted”.  In Exodus when Moses told Israel what God had said, they “did not listen because of their discouragement”.

In the beginning when God created the Heavens and the Earth, and everything in it, it was because He wanted us to be here and fellowship with Him, to be friends, to be our Father and us His kids.  Basically, He loved us into creation.  Because He is God, from the very beginning, He knew that we would be a colossal mess, and so from the beginning, He had a redemptive plan.  Throughout history, He has redeemed His people one way or another, until the largest redemptive act in all of history, God, the great I AM, the Lord of Lords, King of Kings, the Alpha and Omega, the Word, HE became flesh and dwelt among us….His creation…the ones He created to love.  He knew all this was going to happen and so what did He do?….He came here in a humble manner, as a completely dependent baby, lived among us while we cursed Him, spat on Him, hated Him, etc., then He was beaten and tortured beyond the meaning those words even hold.  He was nailed to a cross and shed His blood to redeem us….the colossal mess.  All because He loved (and continues to love) us.  Why?  Why does He love us so?

I  know daily I fail those I love.  Whether it is by being impatient, being selfish, having an attitude, I fail my loved ones.  How much more do I fail my perfect Father…my DADDY!  How much more though, does He continue to love me in spite of it all?  This is oh so overwhelming to even comprehend.

What do you think?

