Are you eloquent?

I think that through the bible, one of my absolute favorite characters and stories is that of Moses. At the start of this year I set out to read the bible in a year and was so excited to reach Exodus tonight. There is so much to learn from the relationship of God and Moses.

Over the next several days, please watch for my posts as I know I will have more to share as I get closer to my favorite interaction between God and Moses. But until then….

Prayer. Do you speak eloquently? I don’t. In fact, several weeks ago as a thirty-something I just prayed out loud, actually leading in prayer, for the first time in my life. I seriously felt like I was stumbling over my words and sounded like a blubbering fool.

How about in sharing your faith with someone else? I attempted to do that for the first time a few weeks ago too. Some Jehovah Witnesses came to my door wanting to leave me with a watch tower magazine. I grabbed a gospel tract and tried to share some about Jesus with them. For my first time I know I wasn’t eloquent, but did learn a lesson. In situations like these there is just a few minutes to try to deliver the Gospel. We must rely on God to give us the words like He promised to Moses.

But Moses said to the Lord, “Oh, my Lord, I am not eloquent, either in the past or since you have spoken to your servant, but I am slow of speech and of tongue.” Then the Lord said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth? Who makes him mute, or deaf, or seeing, or blind? Is it not I, the Lord ? Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall speak.” (Exodus 4:10-12 ESV)

Earlier in this chapter God commissioned Moses to return to Egypt for His people. Moses wasn’t sure how Pharaoh would receive Him and so God taught Moses a few things. God turned Moses staff to a serpent, He turned his skin to that of a leper, and He turned water to blood. After having done these miraculous things in front of Moses very eyes, Moses was still weary of the mission. This is when Moses said he lacked eloquence.

(This is so me!)

So God tells Moses that He would be with Him and give Him the words to say. And at that do you think Moses was ready?

No!

He asked God to give this mission to his brother, Aaron. At this God became angry with Moses.

Some heavy things to think about, would you agree?

So my prayer. That regardless of the “eloquence” God will give me the courage to speak to others of His goodness and mercy. That God will put the people in front of me that He wants me to speak with. That I wouldn’t worry about how I fumble over my words but that I will just trust…trust the Holy Spirit to give me the words as He did Moses. Lord I accept the mission! Of course I am nervous, but You will be with me and with You I know I can’t go wrong.

Will you join me and tell someone how awesome our God is?

What do you think?

