Abigail

I recently started reading a book called “The Top 100 Women of the Bible” by Pamela McQuade. Who else should I look to with similar struggles than the ladies featured in the Bible? They were wives, mothers, workers, homemakers, etc. I figure, I could learn something from them and perhaps everyone who I have an encounter with could have a positive experience and see Jesus through me. I fear today I do not do Him justice. I am certainly thankful for the grace He renews for me daily.

It is my hope to share with you highlights of what I learn as I go through this book on each of these ladies, who have valuable lessons for us on what to do, and what not to do in various situations and circumstances of life.

The first woman who I read about is Abigail. Before reading this, I did not know anything about her. Most of my Bible reading has been on Jesus’ life. So here is what I learned, which you can find by referring to 1 Samuel 25.

Abigail was in an arranged marriage with Nabal, which literally means “fool”. She was faithful to her husband. King David’s people came to their land looking for some hospitality, and Nabal turned them away. [Back story: King David’s soldiers had been watching over Nabal’s land.] Abigail learned of this and immediately loaded up some donkeys with food. [By some food, Abigail gathered 200 loaves of bread, two skins of wine, 5 dressed sheep, 5 seahs/60 pounds of roasted grain, 100 cakes of raisins and 200 cakes of pressed figs.] She went after King David’s people, met them, and pleaded with them and gave them the food. King David, because of Abigail’s gesture and faithfulness, spared Nabal’s life, and all his people. Abigail journeyed home and found Nabal drunk, so waited until the next day to tell him what she did. When she told him, he became so angry, he had either a heart attack or stroke, and died a few days later. When King David learned of Nabal’s death, he took Abigail to be his wife. She went from wife of a unbelieving fool to the wife of a King.

One thing that really struck me, in verse 25 is says “Abigail acted quickly”. When I read that and I re-read the list of items she gathered: 200 loaves of bread, two skins of wine, 5 dressed sheep, 5 seahs/60 pounds of roasted grain, 100 cakes of raisins and 200 cakes of pressed figs. I’m not sure about you, but making dinner for my own family, with much less food, takes at least 60 minutes, 90 minutes would be more accurate. If I could imagine how much time it took her to gather this stuff, I would think Thanksgiving Dinner type preparations, on a larger scale. Of course, I’m sure she had people helping her…but still.

If you have taken the time to read this passage please comment and let me know what stood out to you.

What do you think?

