Homemade Laundry Detergent

I finally did it….I made my own detergent.  I doubled the recipe by using 2 cups of Borax, 2 cups of Washing Soda and 2 bars of Fels-Naptha (recipe given to me by a friend).  The first load of clothes is getting washed now, hoping it comes out nice, fresh, and clean.  But regardless, the ingredients were super cheap and extremely easy to make.  If it works well I will move on to other homemade products to clean with.  Maybe my next product will be homemade candles….those I can give out for Christmas gifts!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Detergent

  1. How did your clothes turn out? I researched DIY detergent but ended up using soap nuts because I am lazy. It took me a while to persuade myself that not smelling of anything was better than that ‘clean laundry’ detergent smell!

    • I am very pleased with the way it worked. It has a very fresh scent…though my blue sparkle snuggle overpowers the scent. Maybe I will brave it next with vinegar as fabric softener. I waited so long to make this and it was so quick and easy to make I should have done it months ago!

What do you think?

