Putting a frog in boiling water

Okay, so I used to post a lot about my political views on Facebook. I gave that up because I understand it could be annoying, especially to those who have different political views than mine. Looking over my timeline, other than this week, I haven’t posted a single political comment in well over a month, and that’s as far as I looked back.

The same will hold true for my blog as I don’t want it to become politically focused, so I will bite my tongue as much as possible.

In light of the supreme courts decision this week with regard to Obamacare, I did feel the need to get one thing off my chest. If you favor Obamacare even, I would still think you would be outraged by the individual mandate, stating that you must purchase health insurance or else pay a fine…ahem…tax.

You see, President Obama has basically forced you to purchase health insurance. How is this possible in a free country? And the supreme court has said this is okay, because it’s a tax? Where is the outrage?

What has happened is like the childhood lesson of the frog. You put a frog in boiling water and it will jump right out. You put a frog in cool water that is gradually heated to boiling, and the frog will be boiled alive.

So it is with our freedom. We have given them the power to make laws which force us to do things we may not want to do, otherwise, pay the tax/fine.

So the question now becomes, what do we do to stop this. The answer – get involved! Vote…vote locally, at your state level, and nationally. Nothing is as important in the political realm as preserving our freedom. The very freedom others gave their lives to preserve. And at this point the fighting that needs to occur is by you and me, at our ballot boxes.

America will never be destroyed from the outside. If we falter and lose our freedoms, it will be because we destroyed ourselves.
Abraham Lincoln

Any people anywhere, being inclined and having the power, have the right to rise up, and shake off the existing government, and form a new one that suits them better. This is a most valuable – a most sacred right – a right, which we hope and believe, is to liberate the world.
Abraham Lincoln

Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/a/abraham_lincoln.html#wJxyOrTmTiQdPrMB.99

2 thoughts on “Putting a frog in boiling water

  1. Yes! They are slowly chipping away at our freedoms “for our own good”. People really need to be paying more attention to what is going on around them, It drives me so crazy. . . .

    • It sure does drive me crazy too. I just don’t understand why what seems so clear to me others are blind to. Not that I’m the smartest or sharpest in the box…

What do you think?

