Do you avoid eye contact?

Do you? I don’t, and when I walk around making eye contact, wanting to share a friendly hello, smile or head nod, I feel very uncomfortable by how people avert their eyes. Makes me feel like a weirdo for making eye contact in the first place.

I wonder why people are so afraid to say hi to strangers, just to acknowledge another human being. I am not talking about carrying a conversation or anything, just a basic “hi” in passing.

Are people so full of themselves that this isn’t possible? Are they afraid?

This brought to mind a blog post by one of my friends, what’s in a name?

What do you think?

